top of page

Welcome to Benin


Benin, officially the Republic of Benin and formerly known as Dahomey, is a country in West Africa. It is bordered by Togo to the west, Nigeria to the east, Burkina Faso to the north-west, and Niger to the north-east.


The majority of its population lives on the small southern coastline of the Bight of Benin, part of the Gulf of Guinea in the northernmost tropical portion of the Atlantic Ocean. The capital of Benin is Porto-Novo, but the seat of government is in Cotonou, the country's largest city and economic capital. Benin covers an area of 114,763 square kilometers (44,310 sq mi) and its population in 2018 was estimated to be approximately 11.49 million. 


Benin is a tropical nation, highly dependent on agriculture, and is a large exporter of palm oil and cotton. Substantial employment and income arise from subsistence farming.

The official language of Benin is French, with several indigenous languages such as FonBaribaYoruba and Dendi also being commonly spoken.

The largest religious group in Benin is Roman Catholicism, followed closely by IslamVodun (commonly referred to as Voodoo outside the country) and Protestantism

More Info to follow...

WhatsApp Image 2023-10-15 at 05.43.31_a359605d.jpg
WhatsApp Image 2023-10-15 at 05.34.27_4a989e05.jpg
WhatsApp Image 2023-10-15 at 05.43.32_5a3bf541.jpg
WhatsApp Image 2023-10-15 at 05.43.30_24001c4b.jpg
WhatsApp Image 2023-10-15 at 05.32.12_7f082a1a.jpg

Bhajan: Maha Maya Maha Kali by the children of Benin

Armand HoundjeLeader +22998469804

Armand Kiniffo +22997179366

Menou Abegnonhou +22951210077

Contact list.jpg
bottom of page